The content of this website is no longer being updated. For information on current assessment activities, please visit

Federal Advisory Committee Authors

David M. Anderson is the Director for the World Data Center for Paleoclimatology, Chief of the Paleoclimatology Branch of NOAA’s National Climatic Data Center, and an Associate Professor at the University of Colorado.

Donald F. Boesch is President of the University of Maryland Center for Environmental Science. His area of expertise is biological oceanography.

Virginia R. Burkett is the Chief Scientist for Global Change Research at the U.S. Geological Survey. Her areas of expertise are coastal ecology, wetland management, and forestry.

Lynne M. Carter is the Director of the Adaptation Network, a non-profit organization, and a project of the Earth Island Institute. Through assessment and action, she works to build resilience in communities and ecosystems in the face of a changing climate.

Stewart J. Cohen is senior researcher with the Adaptation and Impacts Research Division of Environment Canada, and an Adjunct Professor with the Department of Forest Resources Management of the University of British Columbia.

Nancy B. Grimm is a Professor of Life Sciences at Arizona State University. She studies how humanenvironment interactions and climate variability influence biogeochemical processes in both riverine and urban ecosystems.

Jerry L. Hatfield is the Laboratory Director of the USDA-ARS National Soil Tilth Laboratory in Ames, Iowa. His expertise is in the quantifications of spatial and temporal interactions across the soil-plantatmosphere continuum.

Katharine Hayhoe is a Research Associate Professor in the Department of Geosciences at Texas Tech University and Principal Scientist and CEO of ATMOS Research & Consulting. Her research examines the potential impacts of human activities on the global environment.

Anthony C. Janetos is the Director of the Joint Global Change Research Institute, a joint venture between the Pacific Northwest National Laboratory and the University of Maryland. His area of expertise is biology.

Thomas R. Karl, (Co-Chair), is the Director of NOAA’s National Climatic Data Center. His areas of expertise include monitoring for climate change and changes in extreme climate and weather events. He is also president of the American Meteorological Society.

Jack A. Kaye currently serves as Associate Director for Research of the Earth Science Division within NASA’s Science Mission Directorate. He is responsible for NASA’s research and data analysis programs in Earth System Science.

Jay H. Lawrimore is Chief of the Climate Analysis Branch at NOAA’s National Climatic Data Center. He has led a team of scientists that monitors the Earth’s climate on an operational basis.

James J. McCarthy is Alexander Agassiz Professor of Biological Oceanography at Harvard University. His areas of expertise are biology and oceanography. He is also President of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

A. David McGuire is a Professor of Ecology in the U.S. Geological Survey’s Alaska Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit located at the University of Alaska Fairbanks. His areas of expertise are ecosystem ecology and terrestrial feedbacks to the climate system.

Jerry M. Melillo, (Co-Chair), is the Director of The Ecosystems Center at the Marine Biological Laboratory in Woods Hole. He specializes in understanding the impacts of human activities on the biogeochemistry of ecological systems.

Edward L. Miles is the Virginia and Prentice Bloedel Professor of Marine Studies and Public Affairs at the University of Washington. His fields of specialization are international science and technology policy, marine policy and ocean management, and the impacts of climate variability and change.

Evan Mills is currently a Staff Scientist at the U.S. Department of Energy’s Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. His areas of expertise are energy systems and risk management in the context of climate change.

Jonathan T. Overpeck is a climate system scientist at the University of Arizona, where he is also the Director of the Institute of the Environment, as well as a Professor of Geosciences and a Professor of Atmospheric Sciences.

Jonathan A. Patz is a Professor & Director of Global Environmental Health at the University of Wisconsin in Madison. He has earned medical board certification in both Occupational/Environmental Medicine and Family Medicine.

Thomas C. Peterson, (Co-Chair), is a physical scientist at NOAA’s National Climatic Data Center in Asheville, North Carolina. His areas of expertise include data fidelity, international data exchange and global climate analysis using both in situ and satellite data.

Roger S. Pulwarty is a physical scientist and the Director of the National Integrated Drought Information System Program at NOAA in Boulder, Colorado. His interests are in climate risk assessment and adaptation.

Benjamin D. Santer is an atmospheric scientist at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory. His research focuses on climate model evaluation, the use of statistical methods in climate science, and identification of “fingerprints” in observed climate records.

Michael J. Savonis has 25 years of experience in transportation policy, with extensive expertise in air quality and emerging environmental issues. He currently serves as a Senior Policy Advisor at the Federal Highway Administration.

H. Gerry Schwartz, Jr. is an internationally known expert in environmental and civil engineering. He is pastpresident of both the Water Environment Federation and the American Society of Civil Engineers, a member of the National Academy of Engineering, and a private consultant.

Eileen L. Shea serves as Director of the NOAA Integrated Data and Environmental Applications Center and Chief of the Climate Monitoring and Services Division, National Climatic Data Center, NOAA/NESDIS. Her educational experience focused on marine science, environmental law, and resource management.

John M.R. Stone is an Adjunct Research Professor in the Department of Geography and Environmental Studies at Carleton University. He has spent the last 20 years managing climate research in Canada and helping to influence the dialogue between science and policy.

Bradley H. Udall is the Director of the University of Colorado Western Water Assessment. He was formerly a consulting engineer at Hydrosphere Resource Consultants. His expertise includes water and policy issues of the American West and especially the Colorado River. He is an affiliate of NOAA’s Earth System Research Laboratory.

John E. Walsh is a President’s Professor of Global Change at the University of Alaska, Fairbanks and Professor Emeritus of Atmospheric Sciences at the University of Illinois. His research interests include the climate of the Arctic, extreme weather events as they relate to climate, and climate-cryosphere interactions.

Michael F. Wehner is a member of the Scientific Computing Group at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory in Berkeley, California. He has been active in both the design of global climate models and in the analysis of their output.

Thomas J. Wilbanks is a Corporate Research Fellow at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory and leads the Laboratory’s Global Change and Developing Country Programs. He conducts research on such issues as sustainable development and responses to concerns about climate change.

Donald J. Wuebbles is the Harry E. Preble Professor of Atmospheric Sciences at the University of Illinois. His research emphasizes the study of chemical and physical processes of the atmosphere towards improved understanding of the Earth’s climate and atmospheric composition.